The Ripple Effect – Blog 30

Water

My Dad continues to do really well. It’s now been over a week since all the treatments concluded and life seems to have returned to some sense of normality for the Spanglish clan.

He even helped pick all the Oranges yesterday with Alan which whilst not being the most exhausting job, is no mean feat for someone who only a matter of months ago could not get out of bed. He did say that he was tired after though which is to be expected but he said it was a ‘good tired’. I’m quite jealous as I can’t remember the last time I was a ‘good tired’.

Communication with my parents is better these days too as I now speak to my mum mostly on Skype. Other than being free, the benefit of this is that I get to have a more real conversation with my family which helps keep the bond much stronger. It’s easy when you’re on just a phone call to only partly listen. I suppose this has its bad side though as I now have to intently listen to every word being said as my facial reactions can be seen….(only joking mother). It’s great though as I get to regularly see my parents without having to physically be there with them. Even my Dad is getting used to looking into the camera properly.

Yesterday’s funny quip was that my Mum asked if my Dad wanted anything bringing back from the UK when she visits later this month. My Dad just said for her to return would be enough. Eugh! Vomit inducing stuff but good to see he continues to have his sense of humour. Deep down though he is a softie but he won’t ever really admit this.

One bad thing though is that he is simply not drinking enough water. For anyone, water intake is key to a healthy body and mind. For my Dad it is crucial as the lack of water combined with everything else initially first saw him enter hospital.

So for anyone that is lucky enough to chat to my dad, see him in Spain etc… please tell him off. Whilst he is doing remarkably well and formal hospital treatment has concluded for the time being, his own treatment schedule must stay on course and simply drinking 2 litres of water a day is all that’s required. It literally could be a matter of life or death.

And in homage to my Dad here are some really terrible jokes to lighten the mood:

Joke 1: A man was caught stealing in a supermarket today while balanced on the shoulders of a couple of vampires. He was charged with shoplifting on two counts.

Joke 2: My cat was just sick on the carpet, I don’t think it was feline well.

Joke 3: How do you organize a space party? You planet.

Joke 4 drum roll please….

Q: What do you call a guy with no arms or legs floating in the water?

A: Bob.

Leave a Reply

