When is a blog not a blog – Blog 22

Marathon

Well it’s not that it’s not a blog but it’s my first truly direct request for sponsorship.

Sponsorship Link- https://www.justgiving.com/Robert-TheBob-Garratt

When my Dad (‘The’ Bob Garratt) was diagnosed with Lung Cancer in June, everything changed for my family. Unfortunately Lung Cancer is usually found too late, such is the case with my Dad. I feel my family are blessed though as the diagnosis brings the ability for us all to make the most of the precious time we have left.

Part of my own coping mechanism has been to keep all our friends and family up to date on how my Dad is doing via the blog site. Another side of my coping mechanism is to push my own limits and do some events building upon the strength my Dad has shown during his ongoing battle.

Therefore on September 27th (the day of my Parents 40th wedding anniversary) I will be running a half marathon in commemoration of my Dad’s strength, his humour and the sheer determination and grit he has shown in battling on.

Whilst a half marathon is only 13.1 miles or more aptly 21.1 km this is not going to be easy. I have completed marathons in the past; only the last time I ran was in Paris in 2009 and I pretty much knackered my knees due to poor training. I have often struggled to run more than 3 miles of late without the knee injury reminding me of the pain it can cause. However, I know my body’s strengths and weaknesses and know that I can achieve my goal. Even if I have to crawl I will go the distance in honour of the man I admire and look up to so much.

I can’t do this without your support though. Cancer Research UK is the world’s leading charity dedicated to beating cancer through research. Please please visit my justgiving page and sponsor as little or as much as you can. I’m not asking for millions but that would be nice…

Sponsorship Link- https://www.justgiving.com/Robert-TheBob-Garratt

P.S. I will be running the Marathon on the day of the Nottingham Robin Hood half Marathon. However, I will be doing my run alone in Cabana De Bergantinos, Spain as I am unable to be in the UK on this day. I have my official Race Number for the marathon and will be sporting this on the day. Not sure what the locals will think but then again being the ‘only English in the village’ allows us to stand out anyway so running a 1 entrant half marathon will just add to the weirdness.

Thanks in advance for your support.

Sponsorship Link- https://www.justgiving.com/Robert-TheBob-Garratt

Leave a Reply

